Needing Help with running Quake v3.50

Is there something that doesn't work right? Do you need help with something? Post about it here.
Sean

Needing Help with running Quake v3.50

Post by Sean »

ok Hi first off my name is sean and im new to quake. I hope you can help.
a friend of mine gave me quake to play online with him and friends they have v3.50 i also have it but cannot access it i can only access the v1.54
i can make it online and play but i cant find my friends. when i try to open the wqpro file it gives me either of two error messages - Quake error W_LoadWadFile: couldn't load gfx.wad

and also Mgl Fatal Error: Cannot Load WDIRxxF.DLL

one solution was offered to me by a fellow player to delete the file OpenGl32.DLL. I did so with no result.
I am very interested in playing this historic game with my friends and would be very happy to put this problem to its death with a nail gun, so i ask you please help me in fixing the problem it would be very much appreciated.
sincerly,
Sean fellow Quaker
Joao Lucas
Level 6
Favorite FvF Class: Laser Android

Re: Needing Help with running Quake v3.50

Post by Joao Lucas »

From QuakeOne.com:
If you are getting this error...

You have encountered one of the easiest to fix error messages in Quake.

The problem is simple, Quake cannot find your pak0.pak and pak1.pak files.

1. Make sure that quake\id1 folder contains your pak files.

2. Check your Start-In folder to make sure it starts in Quake

3. Make sure your Quake executables are in the folder that also contains the id1 folder and that the id1 folder contains the pak files.

4. Double check your Windows short-cut.

5. If you are running Linux and presumably Mac OS/X, you have a case sensitive operating system. Is the "id1" folders spelled in all lower case? Are the "pak0.pak" and "pak1.pak" files spelled in all lower case?