Female Quake 1 skins

Anything FvF related.
User avatar
Gunter
Administrator
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 8:45 pm

Re: Female Quake 1 skins

Post by Gunter » Sun Jan 20, 2008 2:09 pm

That would require a heavily modified server and client. At the start of every level, the server has to precache all the models needed on that level. If the client connects and can't precache all the models from that list, the client will be stuck in the console.
ImageImageImage <- Please try my Pogo Piggle games for Android!

User avatar
gulliver-trans
Administrator
Posts: 441
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 3:27 pm
Favorite FvF Class: Laser Android

Indulge me, please. It's at least a fun puzzle.

Post by gulliver-trans » Sun Jan 20, 2008 4:00 pm

What if a proxy on the server side intercepted the precache list from the server? Could it change it or make substitutions (with a regular model like the globe light sprite) before sending it on to the client? That's the part I'm not sure of.

Example of client connect:
http://www.gamers.org/dEngine/quake/spe ... tm#NETEXPL

I guess you'd have to decide who gets the full list based on the IP address of the client? I don't see what other information you could get from the client before precache... unless... the proxy tricks the client into sending the player name? Like maybe just one message to trigger it? Or maybe a fake connection attempt followed by a real one? Stuffcmd("connect")? Heh.

One way it might work: the player says "fvf models on" and then has to reconnect (or is reconnected) to precache all the models?

Anyhow, I don't think substituting female frames for male ones would be a problem. It wouldn't require hacking the precache list. The proxy could even decide by player name (if it contains the characters "[FS]" when changed, for example), whether to send the female frame numbers to that player. If you did it that way, then you could easily tell who can see female frames and who can't.

User avatar
Gunter
Administrator
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 8:45 pm

Re: Female Quake 1 skins

Post by Gunter » Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:09 pm

Gunter wrote:That would require a heavily modified server and client.
i.e., it ain't gonna happen.

The simplest solution would be to program a mod that had both male and female models, but that, of course, would require downloads.
ImageImageImage <- Please try my Pogo Piggle games for Android!

User avatar
gulliver-trans
Administrator
Posts: 441
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 3:27 pm
Favorite FvF Class: Laser Android

Re: Female Quake 1 skins

Post by gulliver-trans » Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:19 pm

All I want to know is if the way I proposed (using a proxy) would work.

I am not suggesting you program it.

User avatar
Gunter
Administrator
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 8:45 pm

Re: Female Quake 1 skins

Post by Gunter » Mon Jan 21, 2008 12:42 am

It would make more sense to program a modified Quake server than to program a whole separate proxy program to do the same thing.

Though I have no idea if either is possible.
ImageImageImage <- Please try my Pogo Piggle games for Android!

User avatar
gulliver-trans
Administrator
Posts: 441
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 3:27 pm
Favorite FvF Class: Laser Android

Re: Female Quake 1 skins

Post by gulliver-trans » Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:06 am

Gunter wrote:It would make more sense to program a modified Quake server than to program a whole separate proxy program to do the same thing.
Yah. Yeah.... Yeeeeah. I know. I'm just being crazy obsessive in thinking of a way to make it so any server could use it. I guess the best thing to do would be to promote the code -- bug the main server coders about adding it in.
Gunter wrote: Though I have no idea if either is possible.
Armaphage seems to think it is.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests